christian forums

Worthy Christian Forums - Christian Forums

Welcome to Worthy Christian Forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

A Soldier's Story

- - - - -

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

Mcgyver

Mcgyver

Advanced Member

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 442 posts
I have given much thought as to writing my testimony here, but I hope that through it, someone may find encouragement. If God could save and change my heart; He can change anyone!

Briefly, I was a career Soldier, a paratrooper serving with some of the most elite units in the United States Army. I was also an extremely hard man. I lived by the "Spirit of the Bayonet" and became skilled in art and artifice of war....constantly seeking better ways to kill my fellow man. I used to have a sign over my CP that had the words: "Pray for war". The best times that I had were the times in combat. Enemy combatants were not people to me, simply pop-up targets to be engaged and killed. Death, gore, etc. didn't bother me in the least...because at some level perhaps I had lost my humanity.

I defined myself by the uniform that I wore. I graduated just about every "high speed" school the Army had to offer; Had numerous awards and decorations (the joke was that I looked like a third world general when I put on my Class A's because of all the "fruit salad" and badges), and as one may imagine I excelled during the course of my career! I loved every minute of it!