GandalfTheWise

• Group:  Royal Member
  • Followers:  24
  • Topic Count:  40
  • Topics Per Day:  0.02
  • Content Count:  1,459
  • Content Per Day:  0.60
  • Days Won:  2

Few people ever get to see the real workings of physics and math.  I'm a physicist and mathematician (by education) and have spent decades of my life professionally as an applied scientist, engineer, data scientist, and computer scientist.   This has forced me to learn to do things correctly.  By correctly, I mean that my work has to match what happens in the real world.  I cannot simply make up a few numbers and generate some colorful graphs.  I have to correctly predict what will happen and give solid recommendations that people can depend on.   Here's how a practicing physicist approaches a few trivial examples.  (Unfortunately, I couldn't figure out how to trivially cut and paste some graphs and diagrams into this post. :( )

Example 1:  What type of acceleration does a passenger in an aircraft experience in flight due to the curvature of the earth?

My approach to this is to clearly define the motion, use the appropriate mathematical formula, and produce a comparison to other effects for reference.

A typical airliner cruising at 500 MPH at an altitude of between 30,000 feet and 40,000 feet (I'll call it 7 miles or 36,960 feet to round out the numbers) will follow an arc of a radius equal to the earth's radius plus its altitude.  I'll use the average value of 3956.5 miles for the earth's radius.