What's good about the Church?

• Group:  Newbie
  • Followers:  0
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  1
  • Content Per Day:  0.00
  • Days Won:  0

Hello everyone, I am new to these type of forums but, have already read some very interesting questions and replies.

I have a question that, I would like to engage a discussion on to see what many people feel and think about the Church.

My question is simply this:

• As an UNCHURCHED (either never attended or STOPPED AFTER THEY WERE QUITE YOUNG);
  • As an UNCHURCHED (NEVER ATTENDED)
  • As an INACTIVE PERSON (STOPPED ATTENDING FOR SOME REASON)

Can you tell me "What's good about the Church?"

I would love to hear what some of you have to say to this question.

• Group:  Royal Member
  • Followers:  24
  • Topic Count:  40
  • Topics Per Day:  0.02
  • Content Count:  1,459
  • Content Per Day:  0.60
  • Days Won:  2

I think one must start with the definition of "church".  I think that this can be used in two fundamentally different ways.  One is as the universal church that refers to all believers who have God's Holy Spirit inside of them.  In this post, I'll use the capitalized term "Church" for that.  The other use is for a particular local groups for which I'll use the term congregation (which I'll extend to cover any group ranging from house churches to independent congregations to denominational ones to small groups).   As a pragmatic matter,  most congregations will contain a mixture of people who are in the Church and those who are not.   The semantics and theology behind phrasing things this way could be debated for centuries and indeed have been been.  However, most would agree that there are all of those that God knows are His in the world and local groups are composed partially of those who act like it and partially of those who do not.

I'm going to answer 3 questions.  What is good about the Church?  What is good about local congregations? and then I'll get to the OP.