Sign in to follow this  
Melissa7

A Shocking Thing To See

Hi Again,

It's me, Ann Marie. In my first post as a newbie I said that I would write about my spirituality in this second post. However, I'm pushing it back to my third newbie posting.

Why?

Because I just saw a forum post with the title, "I'm going to kill myself in 2 weeks". I was kind of shocked to see that on a Christian forum. I read the entry and the replies, and came away from it with two thoughts - one bad and one good...

1.  It was chilling to read what the suicidal person wrote. His determination to go through with it despite all the support he received from Worthy members, as well as his seeming conviction that God doesn't exist left me immediately thinking one thing: That he was under severe demonic attack (not possession, Oppression). I know that some Christians I've spoken with disregard Satan and his demons as not being real, or [mistakenly] thinking that he can't affect them in their daily lives (so not true). To me, this suicidal man (?) lost his faith somewhere along the line, and the Enemy charged in like the roaring lion he is. I dearly hope that the prayers of everyone here reached God's ears, causing Him to avert this possible tragedy. Yet His Will be done.

2. As shocked as I was to read this terrible entry, I was even more surprised at all of the loving replies! Over the years, I've visited many so-called Christian communities and chat rooms; and for the most part, I found them to be quite lacking in brotherly love and compassion. Seeing all of the support for that lost soul put a crack in this stony heart of mine. It was beautiful.

Both the post and the replies let me know that I might be in the right place. If this community can handle tough issues like that and respond with such compassion, then I might actually be able to find the help I need here.

• Thumbs Up 2
  • Loved it! 1

Welcome aboard Worthy boards Ann Marie :emot-highfive: