IGNORED

Kingdom of God (or Heaven) - What is it?

• Group:  Advanced Member
  • Followers:  1
  • Topic Count:  18
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  268
  • Content Per Day:  0.04
  • Days Won:  0
  • Birthday:  02/25/2004

I did a quick query of the word "kingdom" in the NASB and found 119 occurrences in the Gospels. I am most interested in what Jesus had to say about the kingdom of God or of Heaven. "Kingdom of God" appears 51 times and "Kingdom of Heaven" appears 31 times (all in Matthew and most of all in chapter 13). I would like to know what others may have concluded about it.

I am not very good at understanding subtleties so I have a hard time with parables and metaphors and such.

Edited by NickyLouse
  • Loved it! 1

• Group:  Mars Hill
  • Followers:  25
  • Topic Count:  6
  • Content Count:  2,679
  • Content Per Day:  1.39
  • Days Won:  16

I've done some digging in this area and begun drawing some conclusions, but I also believe the broadest, most complete answer is likely what @Godismyloveforever just said.

I dragged in the phrase "gospel of the Kingdom" which is the "gospel" Jesus proclaimed He preached and made an emphasis on.  It ties  in well with how  He taught  the  disciples to pray.

So He said to them, “When you pray, say:

Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
Your kingdom come.
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.

That looks to me like a petition looking forward to that day when heaven will be rejoined with the earth as it was in Eden, and Father's rulership of ALL creation is as full and complete as it now is in Heaven.