• Group:  Advanced Member
  • Followers:  1
  • Topic Count:  36
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  174
  • Content Per Day:  0.02
  • Days Won:  0
  • Birthday:  09/08/1967

At my church I play keyboards and sing background vocals on the Worship Team. I've been playing piano forever, and have been in various churches just as long. I've been helping lead Worship for about 6 or 7 years now, and I've been in church choirs for as long as I can remember.

Our Worship Pastor just took a job at another church in another state, and his job is now officially vacant. They asked another member of our team to be the interim Worship Leader in his stead while they do their search for a replacement. They never asked me, or haven't even mentioned anything about me helping out in his absence, even though I feel I am an integral part of the team, and am fully qualified to fill his shoes once he is gone.

The church is run like a corporation, with the Pastor being the "CEO". His word is the final word on all matters of the church. He basically runs a dictatorship. Keep in mind that I've been going to this church for about a year and a half and am very visible on the worship team, so I stick out and get recognized for my service on a weekly basis, so it's not like I'm some schmoe he never interacts with. However, I'm willing to bet he doesn't know anything about me, even what my kids names are, etc.

In the time we've been at this church we've developed virtually no close relationships with other members and you can literally stand in the middle of the fellowship hall between services and not one person will come up to you and say hi, or anything at all. I tested that theory yesterday, and it still holds true. The wife is also not happy at this church and would like to find a more friendly church home.