• Group:  Members
  • Followers:  1
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Topics Per Day:  0
  • Content Count:  4
  • Content Per Day:  0.00
  • Days Won:  0
  • Birthday:  04/22/1944

Probably the most compelling reason I know of is the commandment of God that we shall not have any graven images.

It seems to me that I sense spirit of ignoring this commandment or an outright denial that the images constitute a violation of it.

Several of the posters here have pointed out that if there is no worship, what is the need of the idols and I think that is the direct and valid question.

I would add that this question is one of the many questions that arose as I studied the bible as a catholic that caused me to realize that I could not remain in a church that practiced things that were contrary to the "Word of God."

God wishes us to worship Him in Spirit and in Truth. I could not worship Him in either from within the catholic church, because to do so meant I had to accept that I and many others were practicing a sinful worship before the Lord.

1 John 4:1-4 calls us to try the spirits to determine whether they be of God or the devil. God would not tell us to worship in a way that runs contrary to His Holy Word. However, the devil would.

James calls us to examine ourselves. Jesus thru John in revelation 2 speaks of the church of Thyratira as having good character, but being sinful because they allow the practices of jezebel to go uncensored and un-confronted. We must be vigilant and uncompromising in our faith and actions avoiding even the appearance of sin.

I too say examine ourselves and be aware of God's Word and follow it.

GBU

In His Name

DeaconBob3

Edited by DeaconBob3

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Group:  Removed from Forums for Breaking Terms of Service
  • Topic Count:  13
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  2,194
  • Content Per Day:  0.30