IGNORED

Mandated Reporter

Guest Rootabagga

Guest Rootabagga

I have a little bit of a problem I would like some input on. Over the weekend I had my ex- sister in laws kids. Every night I have a "girl talk" time with the kids, if others want to join they can, and something came up. I took the child aside and we talked alone for her sake, she was very scared to talk. She proceeded to tell me that she was abused last summer by her mothers boyfriends friend. I asked her if she told anyone else and she said yes, her mom but mom did nothing. Now where I work in a school setting and hold a Human Services degree, I am by law a mandated reporter. My question is should I go to the parent first or to the law? The mother is not in contact with the boyfriend anymore thus there is no contact with the accussed man. I am planning on calling DHS tommorrow but was curious as to weither I need to talk to the mother. I have never had to make a report where the parent/gaurdian is NOT the accussed. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Kate

• Group:  Royal Member
  • Followers:  12
  • Topic Count:  75
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  3,399
  • Content Per Day:  0.43
  • Days Won:  1

I can only tell you what my conscience is telling me. Go and call the authorities because that "friend" :huh: is still out there right now, what child does he have access to now ??????

All praise the Ancient of Days

• Group:  Diamond Member
  • Followers:  0
  • Topic Count:  53
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  523
  • Content Per Day:  0.07
  • Days Won:  0

I agree with Adstar!!

Guest godsmartian

I agree with the first two. If the mom knew and did nothing about it then it is you who has to say something. The mom had her chance.

• Group:  Members
  • Followers:  2
  • Topic Count:  3
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  41
  • Content Per Day:  0.01
  • Birthday:  02/24/1982

Root,