IGNORED

Groupthink?

Guest K.R.E.B.S

Guest K.R.E.B.S

I'm reading a book by Dr. Armand M Nicholi called "The Question of God." It's about Sigmund Freud and C.S. Lewis and each of their thoughts about God. Page 20 of the book says,

"Historian Peter Gay refers to the 'sizable pockets of anticlericalism and of secularists contempt for all religion' that pervaded European culture during Freud's years in medical school. Many of these 'pockets' involved the medical community, whose acceptance Freud strongly desired - for his professional advancement early in his career, and later, for the acceptance of his theories."

This got me thinking. Do you think there's an efeebling sense of groupthink going on in the scientific community? If I'm a student of science who wants a career, am I going to go against the flow of what everybody else - my professor, colleagues, and possible employers - think? It's like the idea of tell the professor what he/she wants to hear or thinks and you get the grade. Just a thought. :whistling:

Let's hash it out with love and respect,

Joe

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest K.R.E.B.S
Cool, another science student. :whistling: ...What kind of science?

Actually, I'd prefer a student of philosophy...and I like to read alot. Not a "scientist" and have never professed to be one. Well, I guess I'm a Natural Philosopher without the "natural." Anyway, not sure why you thought I was one...