IGNORED

The Future of the Workplace: No Office, Headquarters in Cyberspace

Marnie

Cyber Offices  

19 members have voted

1. 1. I work from home:

• Almost exclusively; I have no office to go to.
    • Sometimes, but I have to report into an office.
    • Just a few days a month
    • Very, very rarely; a few days a year
    • Never. I have to spend 40 hours a week at work
  2. 2. If you could, would you like to be able to work from home?

• Yes, as long as the pay was good.
    • No, I like going into work
    • I'd like the choice to do so sometimes, but not all the time

• Group:  Royal Member
  • Followers:  1
  • Topic Count:  811
  • Topics Per Day:  0.12
  • Content Count:  7,338
  • Content Per Day:  1.08
  • Days Won:  2

I'm wondering if anybody else here works like this: no office, just log on, have web conferences, exchange e-mails, etc., and get your job done, without ever leaving home. I've been doing this for some 5 years and I'll never work in a building again. I'm just curious as to how many of you work like I do.

The Story:

Imagine a work world with no commute, no corporate headquarters and perhaps not even an office in the physical world at all.

For Bob Flavin, a computer scientist at IBM; Janet Hoffman, an executive at a management consulting firm; and Joseph Jaffe, a marketing entrepreneur, the future is already here.

"These days we do so much by teleconference it really doesn't matter where you are," Flavin said.

Like 42 percent of IBM's 350,000 employees, Flavin rarely comes in to an IBM office.

"We don't care where and how you get your work done," said Dan Pelino, general manager of IBM's global health care and life sciences business. "We care that you get your work done."

IBM says it saves $100 million a year in real estate costs because it doesn't need the offices.