IGNORED

The Marriage Covenant

Guest JAR61

As a pastor I am discovering that the issue of themarriage covenant and divorce is not as clear cut as those pastors who root themselves in the New Testamament would have us believe.

Exodus Chapters 21 thru 23 and other Books of the Law point to specific requirements under the Law.

With respect to divorce, spiritual vs. secular the Law was desigend for a Godly people. It seems that too many in the Christian church are quick to tell couples they must stay together even if the wife is being physically abused.

I don't agree with my contemporaries. God loves His daughters and protectes them under the Law.

I would like some detailed insight to the origins and terms of the marriage covenant and grounds for divorce and women's rights within a marriage.

Please include a historical perspective from a Biblical standpoint as well.

• Replies 110
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Group:  Royal Member
  • Followers:  1
  • Topic Count:  75
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  2,802
  • Content Per Day:  0.35
  • Days Won:  0
  • Birthday:  06/01/1945

Your Bible has all the answers, have you read it?

Blessings,

Dad Ernie

• Group:  Diamond Member
  • Followers:  0
  • Topic Count:  22
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  965
  • Content Per Day:  0.13
  • Birthday:  05/28/1979

Wives and Husbands

22Wives, submit to your husbands as to the Lord. 23For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. 24Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.