'Praying with your boots on'

• Group:  Advanced Member
  • Followers:  3
  • Topic Count:  70
  • Topics Per Day:  0.04
  • Content Count:  461
  • Content Per Day:  0.25
  • Days Won:  1

Paul Washer talks about praying g with boots 'on and off'. Boots on prayer is intercessory prayer, while boots off is the more conversational type of prayer. 

Intercessory 'boots on' prayer is often warfare: laborious, hard work, intense. 

As many of you know, my husband is unsaved and I have been praying for him for almost 2 years. It is generally 'boots on' prayer. No matter how much I ask for the Holy Spirit to help me, I always end up burnt out from praying for mybhusband. I hardly ever pray for anyone other than him because I just can't do it: I am often so worn out (mentally? Spiritually? I dont know, but it's hard work) that I forget about every other unsaved person in my life, including my entire family of origin.

I have every faith that my husband will come to Jesus. I really believe it! I know that only the Holy Spirit can make the change in his heart. I know all of the scriptures as to how a believing wife should behave. I have to be very discerning about how I speak to my husband about God as he shuts down very quickly, so most of my efforts have been through prayer and my conduct. At this stage now, it is almost an obsession. I just dont know how or when to ease off or stop praying. As his wife, I feel like I need to go to war for him as nobody else will (his family are all unsaved, without question).

I am getting so weary. My boots are always on praying for him. I feel like I need to keep trudging on to the point where I am totally short sighted and this is all I think about.