• Followers:  18
  • Topic Count:  977
  • Topics Per Day:  0.36
  • Content Count:  13,940
  • Content Per Day:  5.08
  • Days Won:  6
  • Birthday:  03/03/1885

Posted for the car guys and gals.

I think it ( Th evideo) does a good job of pointing out real world considerations.

Note the surprising high cost of electricity to  get a 75% charge up. $27.50 for about 80 miles of use maximum..  The last 25% of charging takes way longer than the first 75%. It took 48 minutes for the first seventy five percent charge. Hmm didn't know that.

It really works out to cost more for the electricity used  to go the same number of miles as gasoline will take the competing truck!

• Group:  Advanced Member
  • Followers:  3
  • Topic Count:  12
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  451
  • Content Per Day:  0.46
  • Days Won:  0

As a technician myself, this is one thing we were talking about at work.  I don't trust the battery meters.  Whether one is talking about your smartphone, electronic equipment at home or all the way up to a car or truck like this, they do not have a technological handle on how to gauge or predict the true level nor predict how long it will last.  With gasoline, the range is proportional to your volume of gasoline.  So if my total range is 350 miles, then if I know that half a tank will get me 175 miles.  The only error is the gas gauge but it's far more accurate than a battery indicator.