• Group:  Advanced Member
  • Followers:  1
  • Topic Count:  46
  • Topics Per Day:  0.01
  • Content Count:  460
  • Content Per Day:  0.11
  • Days Won:  0
  • Birthday:  10/26/1990

I have just learned that an upperclassmen who's a friend of mine and has strong christian values was mobbed during his freshman year by the students of my school. He received hate mail and was frequently jeered at on the campus. This happened for four years ( I was a freshman two years after the incident). The reason for this is because he expressed his religious views meaning he was pro-life, anti-gay marriage and other views. This has shaken me a little. Not only was he (still is) a good friend but no one talked about the incident until a meeting to increase diversity on campus...this year after he has graduated. I had always felt a little like I wasn't wanted on the campus sometimes but now I'm really understanding what the animosity was about. I am christian and I read the bible. The majority of students don't like either. I am studying abroad now and will have to return in the summer and well I'm wondering what will be the best plan of action. I will always pray and no God will always be with me. I also know that this trial is just a test and that I am getting closer in my relationship with God. I guess the statement of a student basically being assaulted because of religious views is really daunting at times and the school is really charged as being pro-gay marriage...which I am against. So what should I do? Be quiet and keep my head down?

Guest SaffieGerm11