Hallowed Be Thy Name

• Group:  Newbie
  • Followers:  0
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  1
  • Content Per Day:  0.00
  • Days Won:  0

Hello everyone.  I am new to this but need some advice.  I am very interested in Christian theology and so I have weekly conversations with a Jehovah Witness.  She is wonderful and very knowledgeable about the Bible however I realize our beliefs are not always congruent (I am Methodist).  But I admire her so much-her discipleship is truly inspiring.  And I can have these deep conversations with her-that I have a hard time doing with my peers-generally speaking.  

One of the main differences (obviously) I noticed as we were comparing bibles is the name Jehovah.  She says it is His true name and He wants us to use it as a way of intimacy/friendship.  

I know/recognize Yahweh as His name from a college NT course I took as well as some research I have some on my own (lots of talk about Tetragrammaton, translation and dealing with vowels...). Yahweh is also used a couple of time in my NIV bible but mostly states LORD.  

She says that Jehovah was intentionally taken out of the Bible by men to keep us from establishing this personal (first-name-basis) relationship and that Satan has a hand in it. 
I do believe God wants us to search for Him and call Him by name. It makes me sad to think of something interfering or deceitfully pulling us apart. The importance of His name is-after all-emphasized in our Lord’s Prayer, not to mention the 10 commandments. So, should I be so concerned about this?