Daughter of God

• Group:  Members
  • Followers:  3
  • Topic Count:  6
  • Topics Per Day:  0.00
  • Content Count:  70
  • Content Per Day:  0.03
  • Days Won:  0

I've basically been told I'm a shoe-in for a job that sounds like an easy fit, with great paid training, and decent pay...but it's in a city that I want to leave in my past, and that was a site of years of horror. I couldn't get out of there fast enough, and swore I'd never go back. 

But I'm terrified I won't get a better job. I've been in school for so many years now, and I've had a mild phobia of job hunting ever since a horrible experience when I was 19. After finally beginning the dreaded job search just a couple weeks ago, I have growing but still shaky confidence in my skills and abilities. I know the field and position I really want to get into, but I have little direct experience (but lots of training) in it, and I'm very apprehensive about applying.

Yes, I haven't actually applied to those positions. I want to, but the cover letter is screwing me up; I have a pathological aversion to self-promotion. I'm the "work hard, follow the rules" type. Today's culture of "SELL! Enthusiasm! Smile!" completely freaks me out. I don't know what to say. The job itself doesn't require that sort of thing, thank God, but the interview process...terrifies me. I'm OK if I know what to do about something, but if I don't know how it's done, I freeze up or procrastinate. Especially when it comes to social somethings. 

The job mentioned above is in a different field, a different position entirely, though it might offer some transferable technological training. 

I know it's God's plan in the end, and He's telling me to chase my dream.

Any thoughts or advice for a newbie (re)convert?

• Group:  Worthy Ministers
  • Followers:  29
  • Topic Count:  599
  • Topics Per Day:  0.08
  • Content Count:  56,264
  • Content Per Day:  7.56
  • Days Won:  271