PATrobas

• Group:  Advanced Member
  • Followers:  1
  • Topic Count:  53
  • Topics Per Day:  0.15
  • Content Count:  173
  • Content Per Day:  0.49
  • Days Won:  0

Jesus was filled with the Holy Spirit from His conception. Then, at His baptism, we see the Holy Spirit coming upon Him in the form of a dove, anointing and filling Him in preparation for His public ministry. He was never apart from His Father nor the Holy Spirit until His death on the cross when He cried out My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?Mark 15:34 Thus, the man Jesus died alone. But as I studied His public ministry, which He performed by the power of the Holy Spirit, I found that  Jesus manifested every spiritual gift and ministry ever given to men (as outlined in 1 Corinthians 12:7-11, Romans 12:6-8, and Ephesians 4:11,) except one. That one exception is the speaking in, and the interpretation of tongues. There is no Biblical record of Him ever exercising that gift. This seemed odd to me until it occurred to me that perhaps He did exercise a form of the gift of tongues when He spoke to the people in parables. By speaking in parables, He was fulfilling the purpose and ministry of the gift of tongues. A look back at Israel provides some insight to how they are tied together.